Pages

Friday, 22 July 2016

Genealogy at Lunchtime: National Library of Ireland

The National Library of Ireland (NLI) has announced its summer programme of free Genealogy at Lunchtime lectures which runs from 26 July to 8 September. Each lecture starts at 1pm and is presented in the NLI's seminar room in Kildare Street, Dublin 2.

Tuesday 26 July: Mná - 25 years of searching - lessons & leads, with Sinead McCool.

Thursday 28 July: The lonely sea and sky - the rescue of 168 German sailors in December 1943 by the MV Kerlogue, a tiny ship from Wexford, with Dermot Bolger

Tuesday 2 August: Territory, maps and genealogy, with Paul McCotter MAGI.

Thursday 4 August: Explorations in Irish genealogy, with Fiona Fitzsimons

Tuesday 9 August: History of Deaf Culture in Ireland, with Liam Breen / Cormac Leonard (interpreter)

Thursday 11 August: "The selkie's skin": How Irish oral traditions preserve family and local history, with Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill.

Tuesday 15 August: Wilde's women: how Oscar Wilde was shaped by the women he knew, with Eleanor Fitzsimons

Thursday 18 August: The Forgotten Irish: Revealing the voices of Irish 19th-century emigrants, with Damien Shiels.

Tuesday 23 August: Irish American Identity - how do we sustain the people-to-people links between Ireland and the United States? with Kevin F. O'Malley,

Thursday 25 August: Children's records in 19th-century Ireland, with Aoife O'Connor.

Tuesday 30 August: Stories from the parish registers, with Clodagh Tait.

Thursday 1 September Ogham Stones: Our earliest genealogical sources, with Nora White.

Tuesday 6 September: Ten free websites for US genealogical research, with Joe Buggy.

Thursday 8 September: Adventures in DNA: Who were the first Irish?, with Professor Dan Bradley.

All are welcome to attend. There's no booking requirement, but arriving early is recommended to ensure you get a seat.