Thursday 16 February 2012

Leighlin Administrations 1700-1857 released

FindMyPast Ireland has launched some more death records: The Index to Leighlin Administrations. This collection covers the period from 1700 to 1857 and should prove extremely useful for those researching their Irish family history with ancestors from counties
Carlow, Laois (Queen’s County), Wicklow and Kilkenny.

Prior to 1858, when a person died intestate, their affairs had to be settled by their next of kin or principal creditor in the Diocesan or Prerogative Courts. Before the Bishop granted the administration, the administrator was required to enter into a bond of a specified sum as security that they would justly administer the effects.

The Leighlin Diocese includes the towns of:
  • Carlow
  • Tullow
  • Abbeyleix
  • Mountrath
  • Maryborough
  • Balitinglass
  • over 90 civil parishes and smaller towns.

This Index to Leighlin Administrations includes:

  • Name and address of the deceased
  • Year in which the administration was granted
The original bonds were destroyed in the Public Record Office fire of 1922, consequently all that survives is the index.