Pages

Thursday, 29 October 2015

Pathos of Distance: exhibition and lectures at National Gallery in December

The National Gallery of Ireland will be launching a new exhibition – Pathos of Distance – in December which examines through images the history of Irish migration and the Diaspora. A series of lectures covering themes and concepts relating to the exhibition and its subject matter will also be presented, as follows:

Tuesday 1 December:
Introducing Visualising the Irish Diaspora and the ‘Pathos of Distance’, with Donal Maguire (curator of the exhibition). 10:30am.

Friday 4 December: The history of Irish migration, with Professor Mary Daly. 11am.

Sunday 6 December: The Irish diaspora and memory of the Famine, with Dr Emily Mark Fitzgerald. 3pm.

Tuesday 8 December: Pathos of Distance – Dr Sarah Pierce (the artwork creator) discusses her work. 10:30am.

Friday 11 December Picturing 19th-century migration, with Dr Katy Milligan. 11am.

Sunday 13 December: Art and migration, with Professor Fintan Cullen. 3pm.

Tuesday 15 December: Ireland and migration in the 21st century, with Dr Mary Gilmartin. 10:30am.

Tuesday 29 December: The wider context of emigration in the 19th century, with Dr Fariha Shaikh. 10:30am.

All lectures are free to attend and no booking is required.
Venue: Lecture Theatre, National Gallery of Ireland, Merrion Square West, Dublin 2.

The exhibition will open on Wednesday 2 December. Leading up to the opening, the National Gallery is publishing a weekly series of blogposts featuring some of the images included in the exhibition.