Pages

Monday, 20 January 2014

Genealogy and history events taking place 20–25 Jan

Monday 20 January: Northern Ireland Digital Film Archive, with Mary Bradley. Host: North of Ireland FHS, Larne Branch.Venue: Larne Bowling & Lawn Tennis Club, 112-120 Glenarm Road, Larne, BT40 1DZ. 7:30–9:30pm. Details.

Tuesday 21 January: ‘To hell or to Kimmage’: planning outcomes of the 1913 Church Street disaster, a HistoryIreland Hedge School with Ellen Rowley, Ruth McManus, Mary Daly and Chris Corlett. Venue: National Library of Ireland, Kildare Street, Dublin 2. 7pm. Free.

Tuesday 21 January: In Depth Family History Research, with Frank Collins. Host: North of Ireland Family History Society, Venue: Omagh Library, Dublin Road, Omagh, Co Tyrone. 7:15pm – 9:15pm. Details.

Wednesday 22 January:
Irish Research 101 - Learning the research process. A free webinar with Judith Eccles Wight showing how to resolve a research problem or two using records in both the country of settlement and the Irish place of origin. Timezones: 2pm Eastern USA; 1pm Central; 12pm Mountain; 11am Pacific; 7pm GMT. Register for webinar.

Wednesday 22 January: The 1641 Depositions: An Early Source for Local History (and Beyond), with Dr Annaleigh Margey. Venue: PRONI, Titanic Boulevard, Belfast. Part of PRONI's Overlooked Archival Sources lecture series. Admission is free but you need to book by email.

Wednesday 22 January: Dublin's Little Jerusalem. Did you or your parents grow up in Portobello among the Jewish community in the 1920s/30s/40s/50s/60s? What are your happy memories of your Jewish neighbours & friends? What stories did your parents pass on to you? Venue: Terenure Library, Templeogue Road, Dublin 6. 5:30–7:30pm. Free and booking essential. An unusual event to take part in. See details.

Wednesday 22 January: The science of heraldry, with Michael Comyns, Herald of Arms. Host Carrick-on-Shannon Historical Society. Venue: The Bush Hotel, Carrick-on-Shannon, Co Leitrim, at 8.30 pm. All are welcome to attend. Members free; non-members €5/€3 concession.

Thursday 23 January: Alleys, annals and anecdotes: a new look at Gilbert’s History of Dublin – the 17th Annual Sir John T. Gilbert Commemorative Lecture will be given by Dr Séamas Ó Maitiú. Venue: Dublin City Library and Archive, 138-144 Pearse Street, Dublin 2. 6pm Wine reception. No booking required but come early to ensure a place. Email for more information.

Thursday 23 January: Morpeth Roll lectures. Two presentations hosted by Queen's University Belfast. Venue: Auditorium, McClay Library. 3pm–4pm and 5pm–6pm. Free. Open to the public and students/staff. Details.

Friday 24 to Saturday 25 January: Ireland and the First World War: 'In defence of right, of freedom and of religion?', a conference hosted by the School of History, University College Cork. Details.