Friday, 12 July 2013

Kerry Genealogy Roadshow revs into gear

You can't miss the Kerry Genealogy Roadshow 
mobile unit!  Here it is in Main Street, Killarney, today
Today at noon, Minister of Heritage, Arts and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan TD will officially launch The Kerry Genealogy Roadshow.

The formalities will take place in Main Street Killarney, outside Macs Ice Cream Parlour, so you can cool down with an ice while you find out about this ambitious project.

For those that can't be there, I'll tell you that the Kerry Genealogy Roadshow is a mobile genealogy unit that's going to be attending 20-odd Gathering and summer festivals being held in the county between now and October.

On hand will be professional genealogists from Ancestor Network, and they'll be ready to help all comers explore their Kerry family names and start tracing their Kerry roots.

As well as an exhibition about family history research in Kerry county, a free printed guide will be distributed and online search facilities to the major genealogy databases will be available, giving access to Census Returns, Tithe Applotment Books, Griffiths Valuation, Civil BMDs, and Church Baptism and Marriage Records.

Here's the list of events:

Sat 13 July : Kenmare Food Carnival, Kenmare
Sun 14 July : Valentia Island King Scallop Festival
Sat 20 July : Ventry Regatta, Dingle
Sun 21 July : The Stack Clan Gathering, Listowel
Sat 27 July : Brosnan Clan Gathering, Castleisland
Sun 28 July : Killarney Summerfest, Killarney
Fri 2 Aug : Caherciveen Celtic Music Festival
Sat 3 Aug : North Kerry Week, Listowel
Sun 4 Aug : Ballybunion Bachelor Reunion
Fri 9 Aug : Puck Fair, Killorglin
Sat 10 Aug : Dingle Races, Dingle
Thur 15 Aug : Rose of Tralee Festival
Sat 17 Aug : Tarbert Family Gathering Festival
Sat 24 Aug : Charlie Chaplin Film Festival, Waterville
Sun 25 Aug : Killarney National Park, Muckross
Sat 31 Aug : Gangs of New York Gathering, Kenmare
Fri 6 Sept : Daniel O'Connell Weekend, Caherciveen
Sat 7 Sept : Daniel O'Connell Weekend, Caherciveen
Sat 14 Sept : Dingle Tradfest / Feile Trad an Daingin
Sun 15 Sept : Listowel Races
Fri 4 Oct : Dingle Food Festival
Sat 5 Oct : Kenmare Lace Festival
Sun 6 Oct : Portmagee Sea Shanty Festival

For more details, contact Ancestor Network on, Tel: +353 87 050 5296.

Thanks to Maria Breen (@breen_maria on Twitter) for the photo.

UPDATE: Here's a short video featuring John Hamrock of Ancestor Network explaining the aim and focus of the Kerry Genealogy Roadshow.